No.95- Porcupine, Echo & The Bunnymen, 1983

Purchased at Spin, High Bridge, Newcastle, 2004 

Annoyingly, I have no access to a CD player this afternoon, and am also a bit pushed for time. Today’s installment, then, is Echo & The Bunnymens’ third and not-terribly-impressive album, Porcupine. There are two fairly decent songs, namely The Cutter and The Back of Love, both of which were big hits in their own right and readily available on any budget Bunnymen compilation. The rest is just a load of grandiose, tuneless pompousness, with none of the tension or inventiveness that made their previous LPs, Crocodiles and Heaven Up Here, so gripping. I’d be sad if you told me I’d have to spend the rest of my life deprived of those albums- sadly, this is not the case with Porcupine.

 Great cover, mind.

Leave a comment